MSU-Northern Traffic Education [view of road from inside car]
Student Resources Traffic Ed Resources Steps to Approval Contact Us

Welcome to Traffic Education Through MSU-Northern!

Residence Hall Housing on the MSU-Northern campus is available. A block of rooms has also been reserved at the AmericInn. Please click on the New Student box below and go to Apply for Residence Hall Housing for further information regarding dorm and motel reservations.

Thank you for your interest in the Traffic Education Minor/Endorsement offered through MSU-Northern. MSU-Northern is the only institution in Montana that offers a Traffic Education minor/endorsement providing training for students planning to become qualified driving instructors. The minor/endorsement is achieved after the completion of 20 credits (12 required, 8 elective). Students become approved to teach traffic education after completing the initial 8-credit coursework. Please view the Program Sheet outlining the course requirements and the Summer Course Schedule for course dates.

Program Sheet Summer Course Schedule Forms Continuing Ed Electives

Pre-registration for summer courses begins March 29. Select your student status and follow the steps below to complete the admissions and registration process. A detailed checklist is available for you to follow under Student Resources. Please contact MSU-Northern at (406) 265-4148 with any questions.

New Student

       Returning Student

What You Need to Know About Traffic Education

The 20-credit Traffic Education Minor/Endorsement requires the following:

  • An acceptable driving record and valid driver license.
  • A current and active Montana educator license.
  • 10 of the 20 credits earned must be MSU-Northern credits.
  • At least 8 credits of the required initial coursework must be completed before you begin teaching traffic education. 

The initial 8 credits are offered each summer and the dates for 2021 Summer are as follows:

TED 465/565 Motor Vehicle Law
2 credits; May 10 - June 11 ONLINE

TED 461/561 Methods of Traffic Safety Education 
3 credits; May 31 - June 25 ONLINE

TED 462/562 Methods of Behind-the-Wheel Instruction 
3 credits; June 14 through June 18 AND 
June 21 through June 25 in HAVRE

The time schedule for the 8 credits allows you to teach Traffic Education starting the second week of July if all requirements are met and you successfully complete the coursework. You then need to continue working at the rate of 4 semester credits per 5-year renewal cycle of your educator license until you obtain the full traffic education endorsement. See Steps to Receive Traffic Education Approval & Endorsement.

After completing the initial coursework (8 credits), you need to apply to the Office of Public Instruction by completing the TE05 Application for Approval as a Teacher of Traffic Education. The Traffic Education Office at OPI will check to see that you have a valid educator license and a valid driver license, and that you have a driver record free of disqualifying citations. You are allowed no more than one moving violation in any 12-month period of the previous 36 months...and no DUI in the previous 3 years, or other serious infraction.

Additional information regarding the Traffic Education Endorsement is available online at the Montana Office of Public Instruction's website, https://opi.mt.gov/Families-Students/Family-Student-Support/Driver-Education.

Our Mission

MSU-Northern's Traffic Education Minor/Endorsement prepares K-12 teachers to impart the knowledge, skills, and habits necessary for adolescent drivers to safely and effectively operate a motor vehicle.