Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity at MSU-Northern

Montana State University-Northern does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, marital status, sexual orientation or preference, age, religion, creed or political belief, mental or physical disability, or status as a Vietnam era or disable veteran in admission, access to, or conduct of its education programs and activities and in its employment policies and practices. Inquiries or complaints should be directed to:

  Office of Human Resources
  Montana State University-Northern
P.O. Box 7751
Havre, MT 59501
Telephone: 406-265-4147
FAX: 406-265-3530

University Policies

1001.7 Discrimination, Harassment, Sexual Misconduct, Dating Violence, Domestic Violence, Stalking, and Retaliation

Government Resources

Montana Human Rights Commission
1625 11th Avenue, P.O. Box 1728, Helena, MT 59624-1728
Phone: 406-444-2884 The American with Disabilities Act (ADA) gives the Department of Justice (DOJ) authority to issue regulations for Title II and III of the ADA and to provide technical assistance and enforcement.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) aims to ensure equality of opportunity by vigorously enforcing federal legislation prohibiting discrimination in employment.

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) is part of the U.S. Department of Labor's Employment Standards Administration.

Laws, Regulations and Executive Orders pertaining to AA/EO:

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended. Prohibition against exclusion from participation in, denial of benefits of, and discrimination under federally assisted programs on ground of race, color or national origin.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended. This federal law prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex or national origin. It covers all aspects of employment, including advertisement and recruitment, hiring, firing and all terms and conditions of employment. It also includes protections for pregnant employees and for freedom from sexual harassment.

Title IX, Education Amendments of 1972. Prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in any education program or activity receiving federal financial assistance. No person shall be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination in any education program or activity that receives federal funds because of their sex.

The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, as amended. This federal law prohibits discrimination based on age in all aspects of employment for workers over the age of 40, except where age is a bona fide occupational qualification (BFOQ).

Age Discrimination Act of 1975. Prohibits discrimination on the basis of age in programs or activities receiving Federal financial assistance.

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 & Amendments Act Of 2008. This federal law prohibits employment discrimination against qualified individuals with disabilities in the private sector, and in state and local governments.

The Equal Pay Act of 1963, as amended. This federal law prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in the payment of wages or benefits, where men and women perform work of similar skill, effort, and responsibility for the same employer under similar working conditions.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. This federal law prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of handicaps. A handicapped person is one who has a physical or mental impairment which limits one or more life activities or has a record of such impairment, or is regarded as having such an impairment.

The Civil Rights Act of 1991. This federal law authorizes compensatory and punitive damages in cases of intentional discrimination, and provides for obtaining attorney's fees and the possibility of jury trials. It also directs the EEOC to expand its technical assistance and outreach activities.

Executive Order 11246, issued in 1965, as Amended in 1967. This executive order prohibits federal contractors and subcontractors from employment discrimination based on race, color, religion or national origin; it requires covered employers to take Affirmative Action to employ and advance women and minorities.

Vietnam Era Veterans' Readjustment Assistance Act (VEVRAA). The law requires that employers with Federal contracts or subcontracts of $25,000 or more provide equal opportunity and affirmative action for Vietnam era veterans, special disabled veterans, and veterans who served on active duty during a war or in a campaign or expedition for which a campaign badge has been authorized. 

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) of 1993. This law provides certain employees with up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave per year for qualifying reasons. It also requires that their group health benefits be maintained during the leave.
A final rule effective on January 16, 2009, updates the FMLA regulations to implement new military family leave entitlements enacted under the National Defense Authorization Act for FY 2008.

Immigration Reform and Control Act (IRCA) of 1986 as amended, requires that employers verify the identity and work eligibility of every employee hired after November 6, 1986.